How to create an asynpg components for 5.x?

Hi guys, simple question here…with I am sure a not so simple answer. I am trying to jump into the async side of things(total noob), but I am struggling to even get a connection pool in asynpg setup and working as a component.

Have any of you solved this problem already and can share your solution with an explanation as to why it works and why it is necessary to implement as such?

That’s more or less what we use in production, with a pooled connection:

DBPool = typing.TypeVar("DBPool") 

async def get_asyncpg_pool():
    """
    Returns global asyncpg pool
    """
    logger.info("Creating new client Pool")
    return await asyncpg.create_pool(**POOL_CONN_ARGS)

class DBPoolComponent(Component):
    _pool = None

def __init__(self):
        self.pool_lock = asyncio.Lock()

async def resolve(self):
        if self._pool is None:
            async with self.pool_lock:
                self._pool = (
                    await get_asyncpg_pool() if self._pool is None else self._pool
                )
        return self._pool

def can_handle_parameter(self, parameter: inspect.Parameter) -> bool:
        return parameter.annotation is DBPool

def my_db_handler(pool: DBPool) -> str:
        return await pool.fetchval(
            """
            SELECT 'Gotcha'
            """
         )

This example works well if you are fine with autocommit and delegates to a global pool (the same for all requests) the SQL queries. If you are less concerned about the number of connections spent in overall a more simplistic approach can be done:

class DBComponent(Component):

async def resolve(self):
        return await asyncpg.connect('postgresql://postgres@localhost/test', **CONN_ARGS)

def can_handle_parameter(self, parameter: inspect.Parameter) -> bool:
        return parameter.annotation is DBClient