How to use the Documentation first code?

um… I am a python novice and i never used any web api framework, but i want to learn apistar, and i don’t know how to learn apistar, i see this Documentation code :

from apistar import App, Route

def welcome(name=None):
    if name is None:
        return {'message': 'Welcome to API Star!'}
    return {'message': 'Welcome to API Star, %s!' % name}

routes = [
    Route('/', method='GET', handler=welcome),
]

app = App(routes=routes)

if __name__ == '__main__':
    app.serve('127.0.0.1', 5000, debug=True)

and use curl http://127.0.0.1:5000/ in my terminal get return, Now i can’t understanding why the name is None, What command should I use to Incoming parameters to name, and run return {‘message’: ‘Welcome to API Star, %s!’ % name} this code.

My English is bad, maybe Unclear description, i just want to know how to use curl to pass in parameters and output name

Did you try this one? — http://127.0.0.1:5000/?name=ueane

Apistar might be a bit of a challenge if it is the first framework you are learning. I’ve been writing python non-professionally for 7 years and am constantly reading the source code and looking up the documentation for the libraries it leverages. It’s not really stable yet and Tom has done rewrites before, so you could find the rug gets pulled out from under you, and without experience to fall back on you could struggle to get your code updated. You also don’t have a lot of extensions at your disposal, so if your goal is to write apps you could find yourself spending more time building out the missing functionality that other frameworks provide.